6 Posts

Shellie
Orange Springs Florida
USA
6 Posts

Posted - Jul 08 2005 :  4:35:03 PM  Show Profile
Hello,
(Newbie here)
I am looking for a good recipe CP or HP method for a Cucumber soap. I want to use pureed cucumber & cucumber esstianal oil. I also have these oils:
Safflower
Grapeseed
Castor
Olive
Coconut
Canola
Butters:
Cocoa
Solid Fats:
Lard
Crisco
:
Liquid Glycerin:
Aloe Juice (real)
I have no Palm oil & will not get any in for at least 2 weeks. I really want to try this recipe.
I seen one on the internet & lost it before I could save it when AOL had a glitch.
Thanks SHellie

If I knew "Mother Nature", needed an "Apprentice", I will fill out an application.

KarenP
True Blue Farmgirl

666 Posts

Karen
Chippewa Falls Wisconsin
USA
666 Posts

Posted - Jul 08 2005 :  7:40:59 PM  Show Profile
Here is a cucumber recipe
from The Handmade Soap Book by Melinda Coss
14 oz coconut oil
10 oz shortening
8 oz Olive Oil
1 cup fresh cucumber (unpealed and cut into chunks)
14-1/2 oz distilled or spring water
5-1/2 oz Lye
1/2 tsp Grapefruit Seed Extract
1 tbspoon fragrance oil pear
I think this recipe could be used as guide.
Here is a couple of sites to.

http://www.soapnuts.com/indexcp.html
http://www.soapdelicatessen.com/soapmaking/toiletries/lotions/creams/aloeandcucumber/
KarenP

"Purest Spring Water in the World"
Go to Top of Page

ThymeForEweFarm
True Blue Farmgirl

705 Posts

Robin
An organic farm in the forest in Maine
USA
705 Posts

Posted - Jul 09 2005 :  07:03:24 AM  Show Profile
I don't want to step on anyone's toes or insult anyone. This isn't my intent.

This recipe is high in both lye and water. When you add the cucumber the water content rises even more. Before using this recipe I suggest running it through the lye calculator at Majestic Mountain Sage. http://thesage.com/calcs/lyecalc2.php

Robin
Thyme For Ewe Farm
www.thymeforewe.com
Go to Top of Page

KarenP
True Blue Farmgirl

666 Posts

Karen
Chippewa Falls Wisconsin
USA
666 Posts