Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 General Chat Forum
 Farm Kitchen
 Wanna make wheat bread. What's your recipe?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Farm Kitchen: Previous Topic Wanna make wheat bread. What's your recipe? Next Topic  

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts

Posted - May 25 2007 :  05:47:39 AM  Show Profile
Since we have a long weekend (and I've been dreaming of a really good pb & j) I'd like to make some wheat bread for sandwiches, and general munching. Something that is good toasted, also.
Now, I don't have a bread machine, and I would like to have a tried and true recipe since I'm a TOTAL beginner.
Also, this is stupid question, but when recipes say "put in a warm place for rising" couldn't this just be my kitchen counter since I don't have the a/c on and it's a little steamy?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

"In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt." Margaret Atwood

mikesgirl
True Blue Farmgirl

3659 Posts

Sherri
Elma WA
USA
3659 Posts

Posted - May 25 2007 :  07:51:37 AM  Show Profile
I'm with Jonni - I can make white bread, but we LOVE wheat bread and every effort I make results in a nice little heavy brick suitable for building, but not eating. Help please ladies.
Go to Top of Page

EmmJay
True Blue Farmgirl

352 Posts

Mary Jane
Amherst Nova Scotia
Canada
352 Posts

Posted - May 25 2007 :  09:05:57 AM  Show Profile
Jonni, I put my bread in the oven with just the light on. This stops the air from hitting it, when little ones open the door (for the millionth time). I find that bread rises just great in there.
MJ

"Thank GOD I'm a country girl"
http://s119.photobucket.com/albums/o134/EmmJay07/
Go to Top of Page

KYgurlsrbest
True Blue Farmgirl

4853 Posts

Jonni
Elsmere Kentucky
USA
4853 Posts