abigail.maryjanesfarm
Schoolmarm

2 Posts

Abigail
Moscow ID
USA
2 Posts

Posted - Dec 01 2023 :  4:23:26 PM  Show Profile
Hello there! It’s finally time for more Mail Art.

My name is Abigail; I’m taking over some things here at MaryJane’s Farm. I know it’s been a little bit since the last Mail Art; MaryJane is really excited to get it going again.

A little bit about me: I work as a math professor at one of the universities nearby, and I specialize in preparing future teachers. I started working at MaryJane’s Farm in April 2022. After the pandemic, I was desperate to find some summer work that did not involve staring at a screen, and MaryJane graciously hired me even though I had virtually no practical skills to speak of on my resumé . I love working here and have learned so much from the work here and from MaryJane.

I just got married this past August. MaryJane was very generous and let me and my girlfriends stay at the farm the night before the wedding. We had the most magical girls’ night. I put together personalized gifts for all the girls, including MaryJane. Planning a wedding really puts a strain on the finances, so I wanted to find a low-cost way of packaging the gifts that was still beautiful and special. I pulled out some paper bags I had been storing in a cupboard and my acrylic paints. I painted the same floral design on each bag and then added each girl’s name to her bag. When the girls arrived for the wedding-eve girls’ night, each girl’s bag was set out waiting for her. What started as a cost-saving strategy ended up being even more special than store-bought bags. MaryJane even told me her favorite part was the bag. In the end, I really only saved myself a few dollars, but I’m still glad I did it. The girls raved about the bags all weekend.