saram
True Blue Farmgirl

521 Posts

Sara
Biggs CA
USA
521 Posts

Posted - Feb 21 2020 :  10:54:14 PM  Show Profile
Danyel, I’d love to hear what meat recipes you put up. I’m very new to canning meats and would love some recipe ideas.

I’m not real sure what you mean by a resource for winter eating. I see you are in PA so probably you aren’t growing a garden? Do you have space for a root cellar? The months of February through April or May are my weak gaps too. I keep striving to succeed in growing greens through this season but have yet to master that. I have a meal here and there, but I want abundance, like I have in the summer. Winter squash are my backbone, and lettuces/greens (beets, collards, kales, cabbage) I’m constantly starting and somehow losing or getting just a few meals from them. One of these years I will conquer the weeds, gophers, dogs digging up gophers, and simply lack of growth and I will enjoy a successful winter garden to carry me into summer!
Go to Top of Page

danyel
True Blue Farmgirl

349 Posts

Danyel
Robertsdale PA
USA
349 Posts

Posted - Feb 22 2020 :  11:52:23 AM  Show Profile
Sara, I can chicken- pork- venison- plus I have canned hamburger, making my taco meat, pizza burger meat, sloppy joes - beef- and last year added ham. I also make stew, however until it’s done the vegetables are a little soft, but good.
I would like to find a resource on meal planning for the seasons, like more items to make for winter meals with crops I would normally have available, better spring ideas for the yummy items coming on, that kind of idea. Does that sound crazy?
I am looking for additional ways to use items like root vegetables for winter eating , plus going to start a cold frame or two, my friends was able to grow lettuce mix all winter here in PA becomes of how mild the winter was, would love to pick lettuce for a salad or sandwich without worrying about a recall, yikes!