Sobyn
True Blue Farmgirl

752 Posts

Sabrina
Kansas
USA
752 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2017 :  06:33:10 AM  Show Profile
I have a raised bed in a narrow section of side yard, I'm sure at one point in time there were things intentionally planted there but now it is just a jumbled mess of weeds, saplings, and ivy. I would like to plant something there that would look nice but it gets basically no direct sunlight, the house is on one side and lots of trees on the other so I'm not sure what will grow with very little direct sun and almost constant shade. My preference is generally for bulbs or perennials so I don't have to re-plant every year. If it is something snakes don't like all the better!! I'm basically a total novice at gardening.

Any suggestions?

Oh we live in Kansas, zone 6.

Thanks!!

Sabrina

Farmgirl Sister #3275
February 2016 Farmgirl of the Month
http://kidscrunchandchrist.com

msdoolittle
True Blue Farmgirl

1143 Posts

Amanda
East Texas
USA
1143 Posts

Posted - Dec 04 2017 :  12:04:09 PM  Show Profile
Sabrina,

If it gets no direct sun, then it would be considered "full shade". You can Google "best full shade perennials" for some ideas, but another thing to take into consideration is water and summer heat. Does the area get very dry in the summer? this is my issue with many suggested shade plants. I am in Zone 8 in TX so it is HOT and DRY come summer. Things like astilbe, heuchera, and columbine don't survive the massive heat and my lack of watering.

However, I use wood fern, Japanese painted fern, lamb's ears, violets (woodland type), ajuga, and even oregano with a lot of success. These may not work for your zone as perennials, though.

FarmGirl #1390
www.mylittlecountry.blog
Go to Top of Page

Sobyn
True Blue Farmgirl

752 Posts

Sabrina
Kansas
USA
752 Posts

Posted - Dec 05 2017 :  05:37:35 AM  Show Profile