Save Password        REGISTER
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Fabulous Farm Collectibles
 *Farmgirl Barter™
 Vintage Wood-Burning Cookstove
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author *Farmgirl Barter™: Previous Topic Vintage Wood-Burning Cookstove Next Topic  

Rosemary
True Blue Farmgirl

1825 Posts

Virginia
USA
1825 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2007 :  09:53:43 AM  Show Profile
Want to cook bread the old-fashioned way? In a wood stove like your great-grandma used?

I have to find a new home for the cook stove that was original to our 1911 farmhouse. It's a Glascock Co. "Victor Junior" model, white porcelain on black cast iron, with a two-door warming shelf above. As far as I know, it's got everything it came with back in the 1920s, including an accurate thermometer on the oven door.

The oven/stovetop really WORKS! We can't actually cook with it only because our chimneys are no longer safe to use. I've been using it for several years basically as a giant trivet, right next to my gas range. I would really like to keep it just for the nostalgia value, but I need to get serious about redoing my kitchen, and it's getting in the way of my plans.

This is from an old product catalog. The big main picture is like mine, only our just has four, not six, "burners." All you'd need is the right size flue pipe for your setup. Hardware stores usuallysell them pretty cheap.

It's way too much trouble to ship, so you'd have to pick it up (I have a pickup truck and can help, if you don't have the right kind of vehicle for such chores), so that means getting to Fauquier County, Virginia. Expect to stay for tea and homemades!

Tell me what you have to swap, or we could talk cash, if that makes more sense to you.

Edited by - Rosemary on Jan 15 2007 10:30:21 AM

Aunt Jenny
True Blue Farmgirl

11381 Posts

Jenny
middle of Utah
USA
11381 Posts

Posted - Jan 15 2007 :  10:29:09 AM  Show Profile
If only I lived closer...that IS my dream stove!! Someday............