urban farm girl
True Blue Farmgirl

80 Posts

Melissa
Posen IL
USA
80 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2009 :  1:37:45 PM  Show Profile
Julie welcome back to the living lol...sorry to hear about you with the flu. Well maybe the temp. has something to do with it for me at least. Chicago has been in the 60's today and when I came home from work and checked on my "mother" Very bubbly...Yeah...the other day I made the basic biscuits very very good... I was pleased. Man I can't believe a starter for a hundred years..WOW! This weekend I'm trying the other recipes I have doubled the starter so hopefully it will turn out good.
Go to Top of Page

willowtreecreek
True Blue Farmgirl

4813 Posts

Julie
Russell AR
USA
4813 Posts

Posted - Mar 06 2009 :  5:15:35 PM  Show Profile
Thanks for all your well wishes everyone! I LOVE to eat and considering I ate only 10 saltine crackers over the course of two days is saying something!!! Being a teacher I know I am usually in for one bad buggie every year but this was awful. We have had so many kids out of school with it too. At least I wasn't suffering alone! Heehee. We hit 78 today and the same is expected for tomorrow. That is a wonderful and welcome change! Happy baking to those of you who will be doing so tomorrow.

Farmgirl Sister #17
Blog
www.willowtreecreek.wordpress.com
Go to Top of Page

GailMN
True Blue Farmgirl

471 Posts

Gail
Hutchinson Minnesota
USA
471 Posts

Posted - Mar 07 2009 :  07:19:21 AM  Show Profile  Send GailMN a Yahoo! Message
Good Morning! Baking day today, yahoo! I made pancakes this morning - they were fabulous. They looked good, they smelled good, they TASTED good. This is week two for me. I fed "Mother" extra during the week because I wanted to make pancakes and bread. I have a question - how much "Mother" do I need to reserve to keep her going healthy and strong. If I make bread, I will be left with about 3/4 cup of "Mother", is that enough to keep her thriving? I appreciate your help. Thank you.

Gail